Lana Del Rey Reveals Album Art, Release Date, and Track List for Norman Fuc

The Queen of Sadcore's latest album will drop August 30th.
Reading time 2 minutes

After a two-year hiatus, indie pop legend Lana Del Rey has finally announced the release date for her upcoming LP, Norman Fucking Rockwell. The album will drop on August 30th, marking the end of Hot Girl Summer and subsequent transition into Sad Girl Fall. Del Rey has already teased several track titles, including the nine-minute-long "Venice Bitch" and her Sublime cover "Doin' Time," the latter of which left several fans disappointed that she had not debuted original music. 

The album art, featuring photography by Chuck Grant, continues Del Rey's clear penchant for vintage Americana, drawing from domestically inclined artists such as titular inspiration Norman Rockwell as well as the pop-cultural panache of Roy Lichtenstein, whose style draws from comic book art. Rocking Old Hollywood siren style, the musician poses next to actor Duke Nicholson (renowned daddy Jack Nicholson's grandson) on a sailboat. While she usually appears aloof or distant in her covers, Del Rey instead extends her arm to the viewer, inviting them along for the ride. An American flag waves prominently in the background because of course it does. 

The album's lead-off track is also its titular track, "Norman Fucking Rockwell," followed by "Mariners apartment complex." Del Rey seems to have taken a page from Ariana Grande's creative use of capitalization when naming her songs. The full track list is as follows:

  1. Norman fucking Rockwell
  2. Mariners apartment complex
  3. Venice bitch
  4. Fuck it I love you
  5. Doin' Time
  6. Love song
  7. Cinnamon Girl
  8. How to disappear
  9. California
  10. The Next Best American Record
  11. The greatest
  12. Bartender
  13. Happiness is a butterfly
  14. hope is a dangerous thing for a woman like me to have — but I have it

Del Rey credits producer Jack Antonoff as well as Rick Nowels and Zach Dawes for the album. Although she's worked with Nowels in her past projects, this is her first major collaboration with hitmaker Antonoff, most notable for his work with Taylor Swift and Lorde. If there's one thing we know for sure, it's that this duo knows how to dominate the radio airwaves from the moment the album drops. Get your tissues out and your lipstick on. 

1564654411086994 ea0o9gtvuaa2jh 1564654411381341 ea0o9grueaamzmc

related posts

Recommended posts for you